Spoken Word Competition 2021


Competitions     >    Spoken Word

THE ARTISTS FORUM is proud to announce the 9 finalists for its inaugural SPOKEN WORD COMPETITION, featuring works that best highlight our 2021 Competition Theme – (The) Politics of Emotion.

The Finalists are (in no particular order):

David Dephy – Idealists (US)
Yellow Rage – Listen Asshole (US)
Brittney Traudt – The R Word (US)
Avery R. Young – Emmet (til de remix) (US)
Shelby Montevirgen – Fast Lane Matrix (US)
Bevin Mirielle Macutay – Exist (US)
Bee Guzman-Elliot – Broken Promises (US)

Our Student Category includes:
Rachana Raghavendra – Suicidal (India)
Allyson Kealani Pang – A Trick of the Light (US)

Congratulations to all our Finalists!

A huge thank you to our 2021 Spoken Word Jury Panel: Keisha-Gaye Anderson, Kate Rigg, Amos White V, and Baron Wright.

Winners will be announced at our Juried Arts Awards Ceremony on December 28th, virtually from New York City.

Each submission, reviewed by a panel of industry professionals, was rated upon its individual merits. Finalists in each category will be judged against one another and a winner declared. Our list of competition winners is forthcoming.

All selected finalists are eligible for a television studio or Zoom interview to be promoted on our online platforms and via THE ARTISTS FORUM: AFTV – a 20+ year arts based television program broadcasted from mid-town Manhattan in New York City.

THE ARTISTS FORUM INC., now in its 23rd year, is a New York City based non-profit arts service organization specializing in events, juried competitions, and media for artists. The organization provides an unparalleled platform for emerging and mid-career artists to share their stories with the world’s creative communities.

Hashtag: #theartistsforumspokenword


Leave a Comment